Lets Get This Party Started

So…after the past week of freaking out about what I was going to have to pay for both the IVF itself and all the medications, not to mention, also trying to figure out where I am going to get all my meds from, I now can relax, as everything seems to be coming together.

I heard back from my doctor that the pre-determination letter came back from my insurance saying they were covering my IVF procedure, less the cryogenics (freezing of eggs) and the PGD testing (the genetic/gender testing). We already knew they weren’t going to cover the PGD testing, as most insurances don’t cover any genetic testing, so we have been saving our pennies (unfortunately a lot more than pennies, ugh) and we knew we had enough to cover that portion. The cryo/freezing part isn’t that expensive, so we will add that to the multiplying tab. What a relief though, to know that the IVF will be almost completely covered! Whew!

What we were told at the doctor was that most often times insurances don’t cover the cost of the meds, which can exceed $9000! I knew that from most blogs I read online prior to beginning this. Although, I thought it was more like $4000, not $9000! We were told that if our insurance doesn’t cover the meds, we have the option to order from overseas in England because it is much cheaper. I waited nearly a week, going back and forth with different pharmacists about all of my information and the many drugs needed to begin the process. Bless this woman at the one pharmacy, because she stayed on the phone with me, reading every single medication and spelling each and every one out with doses and amounts needed for me to write it all down. We were on the phone close to 1 hour! I wanted to calculate how much it was going to cost me to order from the online England website.

After I input all the drugs I could on the website from England, my shopping cart totaled $4000! And not all the drugs were able to be added! The worst case total (if insurance for sure didn’t cover anything was going to be $7850, so I knew that was worst case). I frantically called the doctor and asked what I do about the other drugs and she told me I needed to pay the US prices and get them here, because the England company didn’t have supplies of everything. More freaking out was happening on my end! I am filled with stress, and I’ve begun stress eating, which is not good for me to do…ugh, but then, the call came through, it’s the pharmacy calling, my heart is beating out of my chest and I’m totally sullen figuring out how we are going to manage to pay for this, when she informs me all the meds are COVERED!!!!! Yes, you read that right, they were all covered! I could not believe it! I actually teared up a bit and told her what amazing news that was, when she replied how good it felt to deliver good news for a change, which makes me forever grateful of my employer for considering this a worthwhile benefit. I had to pay my co-pays, which were hundreds, not thousands and I was able to pay using my flex-spending card, which was a complete and total relief. Especially since I got the Folic Acid from the pharmacy last week and that wasn’t covered, and I had to pay $32 for one container of pills!

Anyways, that about catches you up on the important insurance info and now, today is the first day taking the birth control pills, pre-natals, and the folic acid. And guurrrrrllllls, you know I am not going to be taking a freaking horse pill for my pre-nates, so I got some equivalent yummy gummies, only caveat, adding them into the daily calorie count. Booooo…

Leave a Reply

