Initial Ultrasound & Blood Work

After meeting with the doctor originally, I was asked to get blood work done to see what my AMH (anti-mullerian hormone levels) were. So I went to the lab and was strangely excited to get this done. I hate needles, but really, who LOVES them anyways? But on a different level, I was excited to get the blood test to sort of test myself for what was to come. If I don’t die, lol, or even shed a tear, this is going to be okay. So I get checked in and wait for my name to be called. The woman who called my name was a bigger woman who looked a bit rough around the edges. I remember thinking last time I got blood work, that she was more than likely not going to find a vein (since it’s rare to find a vein on me on the first try) and she probably wasn’t going to be nice about it. I also, remember her proving me wrong on both accounts and teaching me a lesson in judging a book by it’s cover. Not only did she find a workable vein on her first try, but, also, I barely felt a thing. So, when I got her again this time, I thought, thank goodness! She found the vein and got it all before I knew it. Now, I know to look for her next time.

I eagerly waited for my results. I had the blood test initially three years prior when we were trying to decide if we wanted to have another baby naturally or go through the IVF process to have a girl. At that time, I knew I wanted four children and I knew if we had a girl for the third one, my husband would say we were done. So I gave the natural way a shot, which is how we got the third boy, ugh/lol.

I got the results of my currant blood work/AMH, and the numbers were better than the test three years ago. So, basically, I truly am getting better with age. Hahahaha. The doctor said he was pleased with the numbers. Don’t quote me on this, and next time I go in, I will get the exact numbers, but I think my AMH level was 3.5 and now it’s 4. Anything over 3 is considered good, according to my doctor.

At my consult a few weeks ago, when I asked my doctor if I would need a uterine sounding, he replied yes, and I was worried for days about how much it was going to hurt. I kept reading stuff on the internet to tell me how painful it is and what to expect. I asked a friend who had the same doctor if she did it and if it hurt. She said she didn’t remember getting one and she said if she did, it probably wasn’t painful if she doesn’t even remember it.

I took three Advil Menstrual Pain tablets 200mg and hoped that would be okay. I got to the office and when the doctor asked how I was, I told him I was nervous and he asked me why, I told him because I read uterine soundings are painful, and he said, “oh, you’re not getting one of those today, we don’t do those. You’re just getting an ultrasound today, no need to worry.” Well, dangit doc, if only I knew, I wouldn’t have spent the last week worrying…lol

I thought to myself, what a dummy I was, lol. Thank god I was wrong, but at least I was prepared. Hahahahahaha. So I had my vaginal ultrasound, which is just a wand with a camera they stick in your vagine and get a better look at your uterus. No biggie at all. He looked around and saw my ovaries and uterus, looked at my scar tissue from my two previous c-sections, said everything looked good and gave me a diagnosis code for insurance.

After the ultrasound, the nurse met with me and informed me that my doctor, who I loved in the short time working with him, was retiring and I would have to chose a new doctor. I’m still bummed out about that, but I’m coming to grips with the idea of a different doctor. I looked up the new doctor and he is very well known in the community, so I have to trust he knows what he’s doing.

Now, I am just waiting to hear from my insurance to see what’s covered and what’s not, so we can begin. The first step is getting back on birth control pills, after my next period to regulate the egg count. So, since my next cycle is a week away, there’s still time to figure it out.

I am getting really anxious not knowing what will be covered and if we will be able to take on this journey or not. I’ve been working towards this goal for over a year, losing weight (50+ lbs) and mentally preparing for this process to start. Thinking of not being able to go through with it is stressful and scary. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

